different strokes

“Are you going to a psychiatrist?”

“Yeah, I started a couple of weeks ago, but I didn’t talk much, so they let me take a break for a while. I’ll start up again in a few weeks. They said if I didn’t like the guy they’d find me another one.”

“That’s the same thing they said to me, but I’m still with the same one. I asked them for another one, for a girl, a lady I mean, because there are some things I just can’t say to a man with a beard.”

“He’s got a beard?”

“Ugh, a huge one, he’s like a bear. Like a big scraggly bear.”

I don’t know why, but I started thinking that maybe if my shrink had a beard, things might be a lot better.

-Ray Loriga, My Brother’s Gun

~ by ironcupshrug on 04/28/2011.

Leave a Reply

 
