cormac mccarthy’s compound words 9

(Suttree, Vintage International, p.39)

-tobaccosacks (“the taps each tied with little tobaccosacks hanging from their mouths”)
-sacklike
-facedown

(p.40)

-lightbulbs
-groundsquirrel
-matchbooks

(p.41)

-jailhouse
-workhouse

(p.42)

-workhouse
-nightshirts

(p.43)

-lightbulbs
-messhall (x4)
-steamtable
-cornbread

(p.44)

-dewfall (“when they turned out into the dewfall and grainy mist of the yard”)

(p.45)

-redheaded
-workhouse
-stoplight
-wiremesh (“the prisoners shoved and crowded at the wiremesh door”)
-sewerpipe

I find I mispronounce certain words I encountered when I was very young, in books that were allegedly, and probably in fact, over my head. I made up a pronunciation on the spot, and stuck with it down through the years as the word recurred in books while failing to ever come up in actual conversation. I guarantee you that an eleven year-old me that read McCarthy would have mined a great deal of confusion from things like “messhall.”

~ by ironcupshrug on 12/29/2009.

Leave a Reply

 
