alnilam 2

The new year is not particularly conducive to reading.

Have some random notes!

I’ve a hard time reading Dickey On Diabetes. He writes quite a bit on the subject in the beginning of the book. All of 36 pages in, and I started to wonder if Dickey was diabetic, because something about the way he writes it smacked of great inorganic infodumps born of a desire to write what he knows about X in as much detail as possible just because, shit, it’s an important of his, the author’s life. As it turns out he was diabetic, and diagnosed late in life like his character.

Of course it’s an important part of the character’s life (he was blinded by the shit), and I’m only 36 pages into the damn book so Passing Judgment is a bit silly. I’m probably impatient with it because I’ve been diabetic for almost 16 years, so nothing he says on the subject is all that new or interesting to me. I know how a high blood sugar feels, so hey man how about we get on with things? That blindness shit, I’ve never been blind, I haven’t gone blind from my Beetus (the descriptions of Cahill’s deteriorating eyesight are pretty compelling), so how about you cut the other stuff and just leave me with this stuff? THESE EXPECTATIONS ARE TOTALLY REASONABLE THANKS FOR YOUR HELP DEAD AUTHOR GUY.

(I’m probably just too sensitive to anything that screams autobiography too loudly due to my recent exposure to Paul Auster, and the realization that in my own horrendous fiction I’ve occasionally written too much detail about bladesmithing thus making things more horrendous. When another’s writing reminds you of your own weaknesses as a writer it makes things tougher than necessary.)

Page 31, this happened:

the pov split

To the left we have the subjective point of view of Cahill, written in the fashion of the book’s epic snow defecation opening. To the right we’ve something a bit more objective, outside of The Man. Afterward it slips into something more conventional, what the book has been since it slipped back to Cahill pre-blindness, a combination of objective narrative and Our Main Character’s feelings and reflections. For the duration (apparently), Dickey is going to be alternating between these, to what end I’m not… really sure. It sure does emphasize the differences between the way Cahill and the other (sighted) people he encounters perceive their environment, but the more conventionally formatted narrative does this as well in less bold, please look at me terms.

Nonetheless: a bold move that reminds me a little of dhalgren! (fuck)

~ by ironcupshrug on 11/23/2009.

Leave a Reply

 
